Skip to main content

I took the time to set up the PG500 for tomorrows task. Took out the second shelf, wrapped a couple of bricks as supports of the grid I'm going to put the turkey upon, above the pan for drippings.

Question is now how to cook it and whether to place cheesecloth over it while smoking. My plan is to smoke for 90 mins at 180 degrees (10/100 for plenty of smoke). Then I will raise to 325 degrees (15/45 for constant temp) until breast reads 161 degrees. Then will place in the cooler until ready to serve (less than 1 hr.)

Does anyone have suggestions or experience?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

If no cheese cloth....no pretty bird. Frowner

I've not done a turkey in my PG500, but as an experienced cook, I'd remember that the smoker cooks from top down. With that said, make sure you get the legs done.

By the way, I don't change the LT/HT settings very often, so I can't comment on that part,oh well! You will have carry over cooking with a finish temp of 325*.
Well, Thanksgiving is over and I thought I would offer some follow-up. The smoking went fine but I picked up some fine ash, which I presume was from the (10/100) setting. Think I will do (10/70) next time (I had set it to 180, but got swings of temp up to 280.)

I found that the clearance is a bit tighter than I thought the the bricks elevating the bird. Next time I will rub the inside top with a bit of tin foil to knock off the carbon bits that have accumulated in the smoker. Several times, my hand scraped the top resulting in a shower of black flakes. I did clean the sides and bottom, the parts that I could see, but forgot the top.

The actual cook at 325 went very well with the (15/45) setting. No smoke, but the temp was nailed to 325.