Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I have no experience with the Sinbo but I do have with a food saver. I have used Freezer bags and unless they are completely full I have had a lot of ice crystals form and problems with freezer burn.

My food saver is one of the older versions it does not hold and cut the bags. I bought a separate bag cutter made for the food saver, my father bought a newer unit it came with the bag holder and cutter.

Try the freezer bags first if you don't leave your food in them for more than a couple of weeks you may not notice enough difference to be worth the cost.

Hope this helps
Last edited by Former Member
Like Swede, I have no experience with Sinbo but do own a Food-Saver brand. It's a smaller unit but suffices the needs for the Mrs & me. I buy my bags on eBay, pint & quart size. We have been very satisfied with it, freezing pulled pork, brisket and chicken in single serving sized portions.

Just my $0.02 worth! Big Grin
I've had troubles with my bags sealing properly.. anyone have ideas. What seems to be the problem is that the juices/oils/greases seem to suck up into the sealing area and must screw up the melt.. especially if I'm repackaging uncooked product into smaller portions.. say when someone brings me a couple hundred pounds of fresh tuna. I've tried putting a piece of paper towel to prevent this and it seems to work but what a pain. I've thought of partially freezing.. but what a pain.

Probably have had about 20%+ failures.. what a pain Confused
I have a foodsaver and it works great. I had problems with the first one I bought, called their customer service and they sent me out a replacement. They told me to keep the original one for parts. I buy the rolls and make my own bags. For Bill's juice problem I found that wraping the meat first with heavy duty Saran wrap is easier and faster than the paper towe trick.