Skip to main content

Got my SM 025 a couple of months ago and loving it. I am a converted propane smoker cook (A Masterbuilt tried to kill me :-) and I really appreciate the ease of the cooker. I am finding myself smoking more often since I can do other weekend activities while still preparing wonderful food. No more watching temps for this guy. One thing I have noticed is the lack of a smoke ring on my food. Everything tastes great (so what am i bitching about?) but kinda miss the red badge of BBQ. I noticed one owner suggested a charcoal briquet in the tray ...anyone else tried this with success?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Welcome to the forum, if you use the find feature and key in smoke ring you will find a lot of threads on the subject. A charcoal briquette will work to a degree but with the great Q coming from your CS you will not miss the smoke ring. Come to think of it no one has ever said this smoke ring taste great while devouring my brisket! Smiler
Trying to figure out the physics of how come it cant form a ring using wood but can get a small one with Kingsford. Only thing I can come up with is a lack of air maybe. Somebody kindly edumacate me here. Thanks. Not that a ring is all that critical as most have said..though it is mighty nice to have one in comp cooking. Have seen some potential grand prize winning briskets which failed to get picked because of a lack thereof. The problem usually being attributed to some kind of funky marinade on the front end. Now the judges tell them dont pay any mind to whether it has one or not..but I think it helps. lol