Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Gregory, I would start with pork ribs or a
butt the cooker is very forgiving. I put a butt on say 9:00 that night and go to bed and its ready the next moring about 2 hr. per pound. I get good ribs in 4hour at 225
setting. I cooked a butt allmost 3hrs per pound and it was good. Just don't use to much wood.
GREGORY:

I have been smoking for about 2 months on my smokette. I've been paying attention to the forum and taking good notes. You'll see that a lot about keeping good records. It doesn't have to be like school,,, Confused HAVE FUN WITH IT Wink

Anyway, Ricky is right. My first was a butt and it was about 6 lbs and it took about 14 hours. I opened the door a few times because I was freaking out because the book said it should take 6-7 hours. Another lesson learned and you'll hear it from Smokin Okie and it's so true,,,,"it's done when it's done" but your own records will help you with that also.

Here is another one that was incredible.

Country Style Ribs & Tenderloin Pork chops: 4 lbs +

225 about 3.5 hours and then turned down to 140 for about � hour. Seasoned with rub spices and Lawrys and Garlic. Fricking Fantastic. Nice bark and everything. AAA++++

3 oz applewood

Suggestion,,,BIG SUGGESTION Mad ,,,,Get a probe thermometer. When I first started watching the forum I saw people taling about Polders. Hell, what was a polder!?!? The Fisherman hooked me up here in Iowa for $19.00 at an outlet mall.

I've been doing a lot of chicken here lately and perfecting that. Trying to anyway. You'll find your mistakes are still pretty darn delicious!!!

Being new at most things suck,,,unless it's sex of course. And you're gonna make some mistakes. Don't get stressed like one guy I've seen post the last couple of weeks. These are some killer smokers and the customer service I've seen and found just the limited time involved are killer.