Skip to main content

I smoked a 7lb. brisket at 225 with my Amerique probe set for 190. The brisket did not have a large fat cap. The meat was soft but too dry for my taste. In my offset smoker I would cover the brisket in foil, bake in my indoor oven for several hours at 350 and then put in the smoker for a couple of hours to get the smoked taste. I always had cups of gravy to pour over the done meat.

What am I doing wrong with my cookshack? Everything else I have cooked has turned out great.

Dave
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Well,I'm no expert-but a couple bits of info might help us,help you.

Was the seven pounder a flat,a nose on flat,or what?

Was it a commercial,select,or choice grade?

What brand was it?

Did it ever have foil on it?

Had it been wet aged,or previously frozen?

Did you check the cooker probe temp against a remote therm,and several places with a consistent instaread probe?

195º could also be overcooked.
quote:
Originally posted by Tom:
Well,I'm no expert-but a couple bits of info might help us,help you.

Was the seven pounder a flat,a nose on flat,or what?

Flat

Was it a commercial,select,or choice grade?
What brand was it?

I bought it at Sam's Club

Did it ever have foil on it?

No

Had it been wet aged,or previously frozen?

I don't believe it had been frozen

Did you check the cooker probe temp against a remote therm,and several places with a consistent instaread probe?

No, the cookshack proba has been working well so far.

195º could also be overcooked.

True....
A couple thoughts would be to check the cooker probe,to be sure it is accurate.

If from Sam's ,it should be choice,and never frozen.

The kill/pack date will be on the cardboard case,and hopefully,it has been setting in the cooler a couple of weeks.

Sam's usually carries IBP,which is what many comp teams use.