Skip to main content

I am new to the Cookshack Forum. I placed an order today for a Smokette. Perhaps an instruction manual will come with it, but I am wondering what, if anything, I need to do before I cook with it. That is, do I need to season it by wiping the inside with oil and letting it run for a few hours, etc. Should I spray the cooking racks with PAM? Any advice will be appreciated.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

You first season it with smoke by putting 4 oz wood in the woodbox and running on 225 for a few hours. Next, season it by cooking a nice size butt or shoulder. I use Pam for grilling on the grills/racks. Don't forget to cover the bottom with HD foil and punch a drip hole. Also, cover the woodbox with HD foil. When finished, put the grills and racks in the dishwasher or soak then scrub them with dawn. Wipe out the interior with paper towels, no cleaner. Clean the outside with 409 or Fantastic or similar. For cooking the butt or shoulder, use the advice you have been studying on this forum. Remember to take explicit notes to include meat temp, outside temp, wind, type and amount of wood, cook temp, weight of meat, time, etc. Use a digital probe in the meat and do not open the door until it reaches the target temp.

Cool
Ya know, everybody says "take notes", so I did. Did it like 5x. For "me" I found out it was pretty pointless. The only bad things I ever had come out of my CS, I believe, were attributed to "bad" wood.

So, what I now do is actually let the wood start smoking before adding the meat. My problem was that a few times the amount of smoke created was ungodly. I mean like scary amounts of smoke.

The CS is like Ronco " set it, and forget it", essentially, and within reason.

Oh, and yes, use the probe or probes. Now those, aree what really helped me.