Skip to main content

I have new fec 100 and am about to break it in right.

I have volunteered to cook 12 butts for my church. I am not new to Cookshack. I have had a 009 for 12 years and an Americue for 5 or so. I am a rookie with the fec 100. I have only had it for a week, so I'm a little nervous.

My plan is to get the rub on the butts and have them in the smoker by about 9pm. Place 4 butts on each of the top 3 racks, with the biggest 4 on top. starting with a cold smoker, smoke at 180 for 8 hrs, then 250 til they are done. I am guessing they will be done around 11am, maybe noon. At that point, I will foil them and put in a cooler, to be server at 5pm.

Anyone see a problem with this plan? Should I spin the racks half way through the cook? Will the grease pan need to be dumped? If I were doing this in my 066, I wouldn't open the door until they were done. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Not sure how big the butts are. You won't fit 4 10# butts per shelf with an air gap to allow circulation. The bottom left shelf is hottest. The right entire side is cooler. I'd figure 3 butts/4 shelves & rotate 180* & top to bottom @ the stall (170ish). Remember, the 100 in FEC 100 means 100 pounds of pork butts. 12 butts is overloading it. Personally I'd cook hotter (250) straight through foiling @ the stall. If you want some coal black bark to mix in, only foil 6 butts. Then you'll know.
GOOD LUCK!
I think your plan will work. I'd probably recommend rotating and moving racks at least once in the cook. Also would probably do the 3 per rack thing just to help with air flow.

They probably won't all be done at the same time, but you have more than enough buffer to get em done.

Foil or no foil... good question, will cook faster if you foil at the stall, but not necessary.

Shoot us some pics of the cook and final product!

Nordy
I know with our traditional electric CS we often start with the coldest meat and cooker that we can.