Skip to main content

Just ordered my first pellet smoker and it is a FEC120. I have been smoking for several years on Smokette 09 and a very old 105 I picked up used. Also smoke on a HsstyBake.

Reading through the forum for tips and really just left me with more questions so hoping the experienced FEC120 users can help.

1. Best way to season
2. Saw lots of posts about fires on FEC100s. Are fires a huge problem with the 120s.
3. Apparently the FEs produce a dryer heat. I have never needed to add a water pan to anything I have smoked before so not sure how to use (ie...amount of water,use during entire smoke)
4. Any tips as to pellets or any other tips/advice, warnings about the 120 or using pellets?

Thanks in advance. This is a great forum. Did 17 pounds of prime rib yesterday on the 105 that thanks to the gobs of advice on here... were perfect.

OKCJeep
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

My answers are based on my FEC100 experience but will generally apply to the 120.

Your instruction manual will provide you seasoning tips. 3-4 hrs at 225 (or whatever the manual suggests) should provide a good initial seasoning. Follow up with a pork butt or two.

Fires - keep the bottom of the smoker clean of debris and grease. Keep meats centered over the lower drip deflector. Vacuum the firepot after each smoke. The one and only fire I've had in my 100 was a result of too many chickens (and high heat) overhanging the drip shelf.

Dry heat is your friend. You'll find the bark on butts and briskets more pronounced. Briskets are best cooked fat side down. If I'm smoking only 1 or 2 racks of ribs, I'll give them a spritz of apple juice every 30 minutes.