Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I'm not overly familiar with the 120 though I know it has a convection fan. Does it have one or two fire pots?

The convected air may offset the direct down to upward flow of heat, in which case may alliviate the dryness issue.

Which way are you smoking briskets now? If you're happy with the results and scoring well, leave well enough alone. You can always practice both methods in the off-season and see what works best for you.

If I owned a Jambo offset, I'd probably go with fat side up till plateau and then flip. Lacking $12K and a Jambo, I'll stick with fat side down in my 100 Smiler
I'm no expert on FE 120s,but like Max says-most try to keep fat towards the heat source.If there is no direct heat,folks do like their politics-stick it however you feel like.Thus,practice side by side at home and see if you can tell the difference.If you are like many cooks that cook three at large comps,try different methods in your practice,but don't EVER change up good methods at a comp.

We do have an ex teammate that cooked with us for a few years that has a 120 in his Food Truck for vending and he sticks to the fat down.

Of course,either way in an FE they will be great ,so he has to judge ease of his operation.
Last edited by tom
I haven't changed up much this being my first year. We've finished as high as 3rd, but then the next comp we get a 15th or lower, then back up. I really don't know other than different judges. I'm using the same meat, but sometimes it doesn't come out as tender and juicy as others. Cooked same way, same temp, same position, same internal temp. We do wrap after color is right.
Ask Johnny Trigg how his ribs placed 162 out of 174 teams at the American Royale Invitational.

Comps are always a crap shoot. Sometimes you hit a good table; sometimes not.

Keep practicing (the same meat helps but it's not a guarantee) until you're satisfied with the end result.