Skip to main content

New to the forum. I've been smoking and bar bq'ing for over 35 years and have always had either a Weber kettle, Weber gas (still have), and several smokers. Tonight I'm selling my Primo XL. Why? It's a great cooker but I'm at the point I need something easier to set up and clean. I'm really torn about this but just don't want to fool with the lump any longer, at least for a while and want what I would call a plug and play cooker.

I've been reading posts and have pretty much decided to go with the Amerique. Not sure I need that much space but the cook and hold is the one feature over the SM 045 that keeps me going back. Anyone out there really use that feature on a regular basis or do you think I could save several hundred and go with the SM045. The extra rack really isn't a deal breaker for space but that added feature is what keeps me going back to it. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I have an 020, so I don't have that feature. Don't know if I'd really use it. I seem to recall someone mention in another thread recently that since these smokers are so well insulated, once it goes into hold mode, it would take hours for it to get down to the hold temperature. Possibly overcooking your meat.

Something to think about. I'm sure some Amerique users will chime in soon.