Skip to main content

This will be my first smoker. Trying to figure out if the extra cost for the AQ is worth it over the SM045?

I am a set it a forget it type of guy.

Or maybe I should go with the SM025....

Any insight will help a newbie pull the trigger. I've tried searching for this to no avail. I am sure this has been asked before.... Thanks for any help.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I just purchased my first electric smoker, and I purchased the AQ. I have to say I am extremely pleased with the unit, I have used it twice with great results each time. I don't know about the SM045, but I can tell you the AQ is not to big, for a serious weekend cook. I am glad I did not go with the smaller unit. For what it's worth.
Thanks cook one. I have many years of grilling experience just never really got into smoking. Always wanted to though. Beside the 15 lb capicity difference it looks like the only other difference is the the ability to go into the hold cycle.

I can't wait to get one of these home!!!

Thanks for any insight anyone wishes to give.
it depends on what your needs are, how many will you be cooking for? I have an SM025 elite and I have never had a problem cooking for a crowd. I have had a little as 2 slabs of ribs and as much 20+ lbs of pork butt and the unit was able to handle each with no problems. I believe it comes down to affordibilty vs size need. If you arent going to be processing large amounts of product a smaller model would be fine and more cost effctive.
I say get the 025. Then if you need more room, buy another 025. Two 025 will still be cheaper than one AmQ.

I have a 5yr old 009 that I do my butts in at 225 degrees. I do 4 butts in it all the time. I am thinking about getting a 025 for ribs or brisket that I can cook at 250 while my 009 will be set at 225. I think 2 units give more flexibility than one especially since you can have both going at different temps!