I think one thing that needs to be discussed (where a new user will see it) is the business with the plateau on a pork butt or similar cuts. The question comes up a lot on the forum and people freak out when it happens.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .