When the discussion about the new blog occurred here, I got the impression they had to live with the package they bought, and had no way to tweak it. It wasn't popular, and lots of folks just gave up and haven't been back.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .