Skip to main content

Well folks the Butts (2) were very, very, very good, the best I have eaten to date. Cooked'em just like you folks told me (still reading). C/S pork rub overnite, room temp, 225deg 17hrs, internal temp 194 pulled it an served with corn bread, cole slaw and beans. I have eaten BBQ/SMOKED meat from White Plains N.Y to Fairmont N.C. Retired U.S.NAVY. Dug a few pits for cooking hawgs, cooked on bed springs and barrels. Considered to be a Cooking FOOL by my co-workers and friends. Folks this is the best I have ever had!!! No brag, Fact!!! Come to NAS JAX FL and ask bout 15 of my co-workers this morning, guess what they had for breakfast. I can say no more.
Cook Shack Boom-shacka-allacaka- Boom !!! Thanks again folks, Mac
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I'm a newbie. Just ordered my Smokette and waiting for it. I've seen several mentions of 1) season it first (not sure what's involved there); and then 2) be sure pork butt (not sure how to ask for that in the market) is the 1st thing you smoke. is pork butt considered a really good first smoke because it's part of the seasoning of the smoker, or is it just because lots of folks like it enough to try it first?
Looking forward to hearing thoughts or seeing links.
Hi Schmoaker, welcome.

Congrats on your very wise purchase.

The seasoning process begins with smoking up the interior on your smoker. You put 4-6 oz. wood in the woodbox and turn the smoker on 225 or so and let it all burn up. Usually takes about 6 hours. You get a good 'seasoning', or coating of smoke inside.

Pork fat has been used for seasoning metal cookware for ages. It conditions and protects the metal. Alot of people not from a 'country' background have trouble understanding this. Please do not take that offensively.

A pork butt is the cut of meat traditionally used for pulled pork BBQ. You can also use a 'picnic', or a pork shoulder.