Skip to main content

So I've been smoking on my SM025 for a couple of months now, primarily of ribs and have a fairly good handle on the process and have put on at least 25 lbs since my diet now consists of fantastic smoked ribs about once per week, LOL.

So for a big party this evening, I decided to smoke a 7.5 lbs pork shoulder for pulled pork sandwiches. I researched the forums here and decided on 225 with Jack Daniels soaked wood chips and estimated that it would take approximately 14 hours (based off research on these forums). I have my trusty Weber Style 6741 that I set for my target internal temperature of 190 (I put both probes in different parts of the shoulder) and put the shoulder in the smoker around 9:30 PM with hopes of pulling it out around NOON today. I was shocked with the Weber Style alarm sounded off around 3:30 AM after only 6 hours of smoking. I will attempt to attach pics of the before and after to this post.

My question is this; isn't 6 hours a little fast for a 7.5 pound pork shoulder? Wouldn't it stand to reason that the temperature was well in excess of the 225 I set it for? In short, I'm trying to determine what went wrong here..... I appreciate any and all help, opinions, theories, etc.

P.S. I haven't had a chance to taste the pork shoulder yet, as I was a little grumpy at 3:30 AM....

Attachments

Images (1)
  • BEFORE-2
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hello Sherpa,

I doubt the wet chips had anything to do with it, but most of us don't do that. I will defer to others on that subject.

Couple of questions. How did it taste? Were you able to shred it or did you have to chop it?

For me 190 degrees is not done. In fact I have experienced the same 6 hour temp only to find it in a stall and go back down into the high 170's for another 3 to 4 hours before hitting my target temp of 200. I really think you aimed a little to low for pulled pork. If you were going for chopped you were probably right on.