Skip to main content

Hello, I am new to the Cookshack Forum and joined a week ago while I was waiting for my new Cookshack SM025 to arrive from Amazon. The first unit was delivered on the 12th and had a fist size hole in the side of the box. I took pictures, opened the box and discovered a dent in the left side next to the lower door hinge. The dent was actually about 6" lower than the hole in the box, but still thought something had hit the smoker. I promptly returned the unit and received my replacement on the 15th. Great customer service from Amazon, BTW.  However, upon opening this box, I discovered the same dent in the left side next to the lower door hinge. I'm now thinking this is no coincidence that the same dent is in the same place. I then noticed a similar dent on the right side next to the door latch.  At this point, I determined that this is possibly due to poor welding. The stainless steel shell got too hot during the welding process and warped the metal skin. I also noticed blackened marks around the door hinges from the weld. The inside of the door welds also were poorly done. It looked like a high school shop class project. 

Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed.  I just built a custom table, on casters, to keep my Cookshack and be able to move freely around the patio and pool area in our backyard. I also had a brisket marinated and ready to smoke and ended up smoking on my Weber charcoal grill. I read many reviews on the Cookshack and was well pleased with my decision until I saw the unit; actually, both of them. I would think for the price of these that the craftsmanship would be much better. I planned on using this often and showing it off to friends and family. There's no way I'm going to showcase this smoker, the quality is embarrassing.