Skip to main content

hey all im a newbie with a steep learning curve ahead i know...have an amerique and have smoked about 6 times in it with varying success.....yesterday was babyback rib day....small load 3 racks of 2.2 -2.4 lb racks...prepped and rubbed them. left them in fridge for 4 hours with rub.cut them in half and put them in rib racks staggered...put them in a cold machine set for 245 and 6 hours ..knowing when they are done they are done...2 chunks of wood ..one hickory one apple...at 3.5 hours i checked them and sprayed them with apple juice..they looked dry on first check..but werent really rendering much fat yet...no shrinkage from bone...at 5 hours they had more of a bark look ..from apple juice sugar i guess , but werent falling apart when handled...at 6 hour mark they looked good on outside but werent feeling tender/done even yet...i took them out and sauced and finished quickly on the grill...meat pulled back from bone ther and i ate.....taste was perfect..smoke was present but not bitter...bark was good as well...BUT and a big but...meat was dry/firm...certainly not fall apart...what am i doing wrong...at 2.4 lbs and 6 hours plus i assume i overcooked...but the signs of the meat said no during the cook...my instincts on the machine arent honed yet but i am a pretty good judge of the cooking process elsewhere in my life...when opening the smoker i shut door while checking and temp dropped maybe 20 degrees ..i sprayed em and replaced and temp was constantly within a 2-3 degree range, so i thought i was golden...i put them in cold from fridge..did i need to let them come to room temp? any thoughts...im close but dont want to wrestle with my ribs...trust me i ate em and so did my friends...but i can do better....also okie always says the smoker cooks very moistly ...why do i feel like i am getting drier results from it ....please feel free to add any thoughts here...thanks Brian
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest