Skip to main content

Hi everyone,
Happy July 4th !
I put in a small butt (7 pounder) last night about 8:00pm. My classic-style Smokette runs hot so I put the temp at approx 215 degrees. The smoker is running hot..hotter than normal..and I have seen the temp peak this morning at 257. It has been at 230-340 for most of this smoke. Do you think something is wrong with the smoker??
The butt has been for 14 hours with the current temp of meat at 158. It is a nice day here..temp in low 80s with low humidity.
Thanks and hope everyone enjoys the day.
Jim
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I'm no expert but with that type of heat I would think your meat would be done after 14 hrs. I've had three butts on for 6 hrs (6-7.5 lbs.) The two smaller ones with the probes in them are at 172*

Do you have an oven thermometer to verify the temperature reading from the Smokette? Right now I'm not believing your readout. If it peaked at 257, how could it be between 230-340? Try moving the probe to another meat location to make sure you're not in fat or something. Meat may be further along than you think. Try a meat reading with another thermometer.

Good luck.
Thanks Pags...sorry for the confusion.
The "air" temp of the smoker is 230-240 (now reading 232) for most of the time with it spiking up occasionally into the 250s. The meat temp is slowing climbing...now at 159.
I'm just wondering if the air temp part of my Maverick therm is being strange.
It is not unusual for me to have almost a 20 hour smoke when I am doing just one butt.
I think Smokin would tell you that the temp swing doesn't bother him. Try moving the Maverick probe to another location and see what it reads.

Gee. I hope my butts don't take 20 hrs. Otherwise I'm ....... Normally, a 7.5 lb butt doesn't take me more than 12 hrs (Elite).