Skip to main content

I am just a beginner trying to figure this one out. Basically, I am trying to figure out if I should spend hrs/days reading rub recipes or just go on the internet and buy my rub…

What do you do? Just reply to my post with a..

Brisket – make my own or buy commercial
Pork Butt - make my own or buy commercial
Ribs - make my own or buy commercial
Chicken - make my own or buy commercial

If you buy commercial rub feel free to share the name/brand etc.

Tom, SmokinOkie, Pags and all you people who have been on the forum for years. What do you think the folks on the forum do. You guys and girls might have a feel for the big picture.

Sorry if this has been done before.

El
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

IMO 95% of your finished product is learning your cooker,and how to COOK the meat.

The wood,sauce,rub,special tricks are the other 5%.

There are great products out there ,that great cooks have developed.

Experienced cooks will say-buy them and tweek to your special needs and get on with COOKING.

Now if you are a huge volume user,you might pay a chemist to design and make by the ton.

Just my $0.02
I buy a commercially made rub and sauce. That being said, I adjust the rub some with other spices dependent on the meat I am using it on. I also adjust the sauce for comp purposes.

The rub I buy is Bonesmokers and the sauce I buy is CS Mild and Big Bob Gibson's Habanero Red sauce.

Now I will point out that Bonesmokers rub is now only sold in 10 lb. boxes. But I go through easily at least two boxes a year between contests, charity work, and catering.
If you're starting out, not very experienced with the meat or the cooker, go commercial.

Like Tom said, learn the meat/cooker first, then you'll have time to experiment on your own rubs. It can be a big thing to create one and if you're more interested in the rub than the product, then you end product won't be as good.