Skip to main content

Hello guys,

So I'm choosing between these two models:

FE PG500 and Traeger TFS60LZC

I really don't know which one, cause FEPG has proven its durability, but the Traeger one is on a good discount at the nearby vendor...

Could you please clarify the pros and cons of each one?

I'd really appreciate REAL user experience

Thanks a lot

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I did a ton of research before investing in my PG500.  My decision ultimately came down to a few specific traits...

• Stainless steel construction
  • Versatility of the configuration - No changeover required to switch from direct grill to smoking
  • Built locally

I have owned it for 2 years and it for sure checks all those boxes.

I have no experience with the Traeger model you referenced, but based on my quick review of it, I think I would still go with the PG500 even if it was more expensive.

If you have more specific questions, I would be happy to answer them.

If not, please follow up and let us know which way you go and how it treats ya!

I almost bought a fast Eddie mostly because the Cook Shacks are not legal for completion. I had a deal set to purchase a used trailer with a FEC on it. I agreed to the asking price without an issue. He needed to use it for 2 more weeks which fit my timeline perfectly so  he didn't want a down payment of any kind so we shook on it and went about our own business. The morning I was to pick it up he messaged me to tell me he had an offer he couldn't refuse so he sold it.

Anyway since then I have come to the opinion the competitions have become a bogus farce.  Just my opinion, but go into any BBQ establishment displaying their championship banners and ask to sample anything they won a championship with and they will tell you, if they are honest, not only do they not serve it in their restaurant they don't serve it at home either because it's not affordable or practical for them to do so,  Enough of my rant