Skip to main content

I was talking to a friend and he was trying to tell me I shouldn't buy in bulk and freeze the meat. He's saying I should buy fresh for every smoke because fresh meat tastes better and has a better texture.
The problem with this is I can't always find what I am looking for when I go to the store. So, I was thinking of buying a case of ribs and brisket and keep in the chest freeze I just bought for that purpose.
Got a deal on a 6 month old 14 cf Frigidaire Commercial Chest Freezer from a sandwich shop that was closing.

What do you guys think?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

In my experience as a home cook, I have never noticed any difference between fresh and thawed meat. I think you have to have professional taste buds to tell the difference. If you are gonna buy in bulk, perhaps you should invest in a food saver or another good brand of vacuum sealer to ward off freezer burn for the smaller stuff, becuase I don't think they make bags big enough for butts and briskets. I quickly did a FIND search on the forum and found almost everyone uses or has used frozen meat. I don't think you will have a problem. Like Big Frog said, if sealed correctly it can be kept a long time. But no, I have never noticed a difference in any kind of meat.
My upright freezer works that way as well, with a quick freeze setting. I would say to use that setting when you initially fill it with a lot of unfrozen food. It is not necessary for just a few things added here and there. I think if you use this setting all the time then you will be wasting ALOT of electricity! I know I don't have stock in the electric company Big Grin Have fun smoking! Vicki
Hey Vicki!,