Skip to main content

I;ve seen mention of it here before, but i just got my 009 tonight, plugged it in to season, and after about 10 mins it tripped the gfi. Switched to another outlet, same thing. Is this common, and what do i do? I'm not an electrictian and i didnt stay at a holiday inn express last night, so i need some help! thanks.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I'm a builder, not an electrician, but the 009 only pulls 10 amps max and there are only two things that will cause a GFI breaker to trip: overload, i.e. too much current draw, and a short circuit, i.e. a wire somewhere in the 009 is touching something it should not touch.

Unless you have other things running on same circuit that are pushing current over breaker limit, it is likey reason #2. Do call CS. This is potentially serious.

Do you have a frigge or freezer on the same circuit? A lot of times electricians will wire an unfinished basement to an outside electrical outlet, since both require a GFI circuit. The fact your breaker didn't trip immediately makes me think it might be the compressor on a freezer cutting in that is actually tripping the breaker.

Good luck.
thanks for the welcome - no, i have nothing else running on it. in fact, i have 2 seperate breaker boxes, one in the basement and one in my detached garage, and i tried the 009 on both, same results. i'm not running anything else out of the ordinary in the house (no freezers or anything) and nothing in the garage.
Hi Chris,

Sorry that your 009 is tripping your GFI breaker. This is not a common problem, however it does happen from time to time. It is caused by the heating element leaking a little voltage to ground. We will need to send you a replacement element. Give Tony a call on Monday morning and he can get you taken care of.

Thanks and once again sorry for the problem.
It's pretty easy to replace and if it doesn't come with instructions, and you're mechanically inclined, it's still easy.