Skip to main content

Hi, New guy looking for some advice from the great knowledge base here. I was given a pretty beat up SM150 that needs work. It definitely needs a new heating element and temp sensor, new side rack supports, racks, and woodbox. The electrical looks OK, hopefully the main control board is in good shape. I'm going to do a little troubleshooting of the electrics before I jump in too far, but figured I'd introduce myself and see if anyone had any thoughts regarding accessories, tips regarding replacement parts, etc. I'll primarily be smoking fish. Also, has anyone done work on the electrics of these units? I'm wondering how to see if the control board works without being able to run the unit since the heating element and temp sensor are not on. I'm far from an electrician so pardon if this is a dumb question or easy solution. Can I troubleshoot the unit without it being fully wired up? I'll be calling tech support tomorrow, they've been great so far, but thought I'd check in here as well. Thanks for any advice,

Ryan
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Welcome aboard Ryan.

Cookshack sells a number or replacement parts on the website.

Your best bet as to the technical aspects would be, as you said, speaking with Bill or Tony in customer service. I doubt you could throw them a question they can't answer.

Good luck on the refurb. It shouldn't be too much of a chore.
They will be able to meter check each of the few wires by color.The results will pinpoint the problem.They will have the few items that can go wrong and sit with you on watts line and talk you thru the simple instruction sheet.
Don't try to over think them.The company is built around keeping it's restaurants,cooks,etc simply operating.

Ask how I know-I just did my two decades old 160.

The folks that know me can swear I can't tell a claw hammer from a snow shovel.