Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Thanks Smokin'. BTW, the Jerky came out good. I did it a little different with respect to leaving the door open... I opted to keep the door shut and reduce the heat to about 160. It seemed to dry it out nicely after about 5 hours in the Smokette. Oh yea, this time I used ground through a jerky gun. Next time I'm going to try a London Broil cut in strips (just as soon as my Hi Mountain kit comes in!) Maybe I'll go to 170 on that batch??
Call me simple, I am a newbie to smoking and had two successes so far... I did a batch of jerky with a basic marinade (bourbon) and let it marinate for four hours, then could wait no longer and smoked it...it did come out a bit drier than I had anticipated, however very saltly and pretty damned good for the first time.

Then the next day I tried out one of the HiMountain Jerky cures...let it set overnight and smoked it according to directions...wow, awesome and easy, almost cheating. Less salty, more smoky, fantastic results although both are excellent.

I do have a question though...what cuts of beef are you guys using for your jerky? I call mine the Upper Cruster, because I used flank steaks...not sure what cuts would produce a comparable result with regard to leanness and texture. Thanks again, this is so much fun. Doing a smoked salmon tonight, and baby back ribs tomorrow.
I.S...I have tried dang near every type of meat making jerky (well over $100 bucks in meats) and I keep going back to flank steak. If you want to get more consistant w/how you cut the flank, invest in HiMountains Jerky Board & Knife. It gives you the right cut every time. What this does is gives it a more consistant cooking time as well. You are right, it's almost cheating it's so easy.....but the results will defintely WOW your friends..(if it lasts that long)....
Hi Idaho Smokies!