Skip to main content

HI Ya..all new to the forum and new to Smokers

Well finally broke down and ordered a smoker. Hoping I made the best choice with the SM020. I am a BBQ lover in need of a fix. Once the snow storm here in CO stops I can get the thing out on the Patio and start the seasoning process.

The smoker arrived today along with a box of hardwood to get started. Being a woodworker I only ordered what I can't cut from my wood pile, LOL. Anyone try smoking with exotic woods? I would not want to ruin a pork butt trying out some new smoky flavor from hell. If anyone has let me know as I am curious.

I do have some questions. I figured out that I need charcoal to get that smoke ring but I have also read that getting skin to crisp in the electric smoker may be a problem. Because the new SM020 has a higher temp range does this mean I can crank it up at the end of the cooking cycle and get a crispy skin on something like a chicken? If any one knows please let me know.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

All your questions will be answered hundreds of times in the FIND at page top.

Input your question,open all forums,lay in firewood for the winter,and read the next six months.

If you can't find an answer,let us know,and someone will point it out.

One REAL quick thought will be that learning to cook the product,will be 97% of your success.

The exotic woods,might contribute another 0.5 %.

Immediately,ignore all the thousands of tricks.

If you find me incorrect,in five years,call me and I'll buy you a bottle of your choice.

Enjoy.
I put in few exotic Woods in the find like you suggested. rosewood, ebony, purple heart, mahogany and guess what nothing?

I found some info on the chicken but I was interested in the SM020 and the new temp range of 300Deg. Wondering if anyone tried this yet? Since the smokers new there is not that much information specific to this model.