Skip to main content

Well here's a little update on my new smoker. To start out I originally ordered a sm045, then when I got it, it was damaged. To make a long story short, I didn't have to pay a 15% restock fee, or pay for return freight, or pay for the initial shipping even though it shipped for free. Well I had to get on them to get it. Anyway I went to another site and got a new Amerique. I felt like the shelves on the sm045 were too close together for large roasts(9 lbs).
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Sorry, I don't know why I ran out of room on the previous post. Has anybody had a problem smoking 4-9 lb. butts in the sm045? I think the grills are too close for tall cuts of pork, but I'm just a newbie. Returned the sm045 and got a Amerique from another site. Called Bill at Cookshack and he measured the distance between racks on the Amerique at 5 inches. A 9 pounder is right at 5". Buyer beware. "Q" Roll Eyes
So BigMike, I need to smoke 4-ten lb. butts for a party. Can I do all four in this thing? What about meat placement for efficient cooking? Smoke one over the other or stagger? More wood than 4-5 ozs.? I haven't gotten it yet. On the way. I returned my sm045. Too small and damaged in shipping.Thanks, "Q"
quote:
Originally posted by Quecrew:
So BigMike, I need to smoke 4-ten lb. butts for a party. Can I do all four in this thing? What about meat placement for efficient cooking? Smoke one over the other or stagger? More wood than 4-5 ozs.? I haven't gotten it yet. On the way. I returned my sm045. Too small and damaged in shipping.Thanks, "Q"