Skip to main content

I just finished priming my new stainless model 25 and have a couple of chickens smoking. I guess I was mislead on the Cabelas reviews I thought by paying more for the probe, you could set the temp on the panel to lower when it reached set probe temp. Is that possible? What info should a new owner know, that is not in the owners manual. What is the warranty? Do I need to register my product? Any suggestions would be great. I am new to smoking and spent a lot of time reading reviews before I bought a Cookshack smoker. I have read some info in this forum and see that their customer service is great. I almost bought a Treager. Sorry for posting that word here!!!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Even more questions now. The recipe book that comes with the smoker says to cook 2 chickens at 225 degrees for 3 hours. I'm on my 4th hour now and the probe is only reading 162. It is 35 degrees outside. Is this normal? The owners manual says no need to pre-heat the time on the recipe book is from start to finish,
Congrats on the new smoker and for a few of your questions.

Most would say that Smokin' has been kind and wrote some basic guides to get you started, check these out

Here is warranty registration. link

Here is where I would start reading. lessons for newbies

Now with all that said...WOW...slow down and enjoy your new toy. I have NEVER registered my warranty,oh well. I was taught not to go by the cookbook times.

Yep, most important I was taught to keep good notes on my cooks and ask this forum any questions that I was not able to find by using the find button that is located in the top left corner.

Oh, about that chicken, your doing fine!