Skip to main content

I purchased the SM025 on 5/21/2022.  It's been used several times a month with great success.  Yesterday (Christmas Day, 2022) I smoked a very expensive 7.76 pound prime rib, this was a prime grade cut of meat. I ordered it from my local butcher without asking about the price - I probably would have gone with choice if I knew prime was 24.99 a pound! Caveat Emptor and all that. - but a frick'n amazing roast. 

Anyway, put it on the smoker at 225* at 10 AM.  Used about an once of cherry and probably 1/2 once of hickory.  Knock the temp down to 140* when the meat reached 220*.   This was at 2:45 PM. The roast went to a final temp of 233*. 

Medium rare Perfection!

I have been using the unit for a few months and have gained total confidence in it.  This was done with zero concern or worry about, well, anything.    Family loved the results. 

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Just a silly question?  The final temp was 233 degrees but it was medium rare?  I love doing Prime Rib in my SMO66.  I hit it a very light coat of dejon mustard, then a rub that is salt, pepper, garlic and onion.  Then add some diced fresh rosemary.  Hickory and cherry for the wood,  and put the cold PR in a cold smoker set to 220 degrees.  I take it to an internal temp of 105 degrees, and then do a reverse sear either on the PG or in the oven.  I do not let the temp internal temp. get over 125.  I then do a foil wrap and place it in a warmed cooler until time to cut it.  The temp.  will rise to 130 to 135 degrees due to the carry over cook.  Good stuff.