Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

It's the worst of all worlds for restaurant owners. I've been holding menu prices for the past 4 years to cope with the economic slowdown. The past two months have produced increased beef (and just about everything else) prices, on an almost weekly basis.

The seasoned vets will get through this by and large but already slim profit margins are now stripped to break even. I've pretty much decided to pack it in if things remain the same in D.C. come 2016.

Beef prices, as high as they are, are only the tip of the iceberg.
quote:
Originally posted by Tom:
Howdy Jeff,good to hear you're still kickin'.Guess ya gave up chasin' bad guys.

Hey Tom..yep still kicking and glad to see you are too. Gave up on the bad guy chasing around nearly 4 years ago. As I try to tell everybody.."being retired is way over rated..but it beats the sheet out of working." lol. Way too much quality time around yakking wimmen. We got along good when I was stuck on midnights for a years at a stretch.
quote:
Originally posted by MaxQ:
It's the worst of all worlds for restaurant owners. I've been holding menu prices for the past 4 years to cope with the economic slowdown. The past two months have produced increased beef (and just about everything else) prices, on an almost weekly basis.

The seasoned vets will get through this by and large but already slim profit margins are now stripped to break even. I've pretty much decided to pack it in if things remain the same in D.C. come 2016.

Hear you on that action. Old chum who runs a Q joint say its fixing to get crazy. About two weeks ago he was paying 2.78 for CAB briskets..no telling what it is now. The menu prices have to rise too..is the only thing that could possibly work. Pork got cheap for a while now it is headed out of sight too. Guess we will have to start eating turkey necks.