Skip to main content

I'm relatively new to smoking, and in the last month or so have produced some good smoked meat on my new 008: baby back ribs, butt, a Fattie and tomorrow a chuck roast. But for all of these, I have used one rub (which has worked nicely thus far).

But what I'm wondering is - will I "OD" from the taste from just using the one rub, and wouldn't it make sense to have a few rubs to rotate through? The related question is do you find that different rubs have a significant effect on the end product?

You would think the effect might be significant, but maybe it's largely the wood smoke flavor and the type of meat that are the most important variables.

Do I need another rub?

Thanks,
Steve P.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I have a rub I really like for chuckies, but I don't use it for brisket. I have a rub I like for PB, but I don't use it on ribs. I have a chicken rub I like, but I don't use it on turkey.

I like to try new and different rubs, but I always have my standbys to fall back on...kinda like "comfort" rubs, I guess.

There are endless combinations of rubs and smoke and methods. Why limit yourself to one when the next you try could be your new favorite?

Then again, if you really, really like your current rub and don't want to deviate from it, that's OK too. Its *your* que!

SmokinMAINEiac
quote:
Originally posted by reevus:

Do I need another rub?

Thanks,
Steve P.

As you develop your technique for different meats/poultry, it's fun to experiment with different seasoning rubs. I happen to like a basic spicy salt & pepper rub on brisket. For ribs and pork butts I like a bit more sugar to build bark and offset the vinegar in my BBQ sauce (ribs) and finishing sauce (pulled pork). Chicken...I like a combo of all.