Skip to main content

I am new to this cooking Q, But I love what I have cooked. As I read through the forum trying to learn there are a few posts that worry me. People talk abought using hard wood lumber scraps to cook with. I dry lumber for a living. When you dry hardwood on a large scale you overdry the lumber by 1%. Then at the end put raw steam from a boiler into the lumber kiln and inject 1% water back into the wood. This sofens the wood to make it machine easyer. This steam has some nasty chemicals in it to protect the boiler. Exposer would be very small, but cooking wood is cheap why risk it. Another kiln man trick, You can dry your small wood pieces in a microwave oven. If it has a low setting and a turntable on the bottom. Put wood in for 1 min. at low setting with turntable running. Then take wood out of the oven for two min, to let it cool off. Do this 3 or 4 times and the wood will be dry. Caution do not use a high setting the wood will burn. My wife does not want a smoked microwave.
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

It is a good process if you adhere to the 'rules' BigAl mentioned. I learned a sore lesson that was not supposed to be a lesson in smoking woods. I once tried to dry a woodcarving that I had applies a very strong oxidant to.. wood bleach.. After bleaching the wood and using vinegar to stop the action of the bleach.. well I wanted to dry the wood reasonably quickly so I could get on with the rest of the carving so I chose to microwave it. I did put it on a relatively low setting.. I didn't have the rotary table in mine.. and microwaved for a few minutes.. saw steam coming out. I did this a few times and it still had steam coming out.. so I mwaved it once more for about a minute at high.. THAT was a mistake. First, I didn't wait for a minute or two between sessions to allow the steam to escape.. just figured with steam coming out it was still wet enough to keep going.