Skip to main content

I have a SM025 with cart, cover, seafood grate and sample spice kit scheduled to be shipped from the factory on 4/22 according to Karen. I am brand new to smoking food myself but I am an experienced veteran at eating it. I have tried smoking meats using a gas grill but the results were mixed at best.

I researched the internet extensively and was amazed that outside of price there was nary a negative comment or review about Cookshack products or services. Made in the USA carried alot of weight with me as well. Having an outstanding forum like this played a big role as well.

I have read all the beginner threads, SmokinOkies 101 tutorials and whole bunch of other stuff on this forum for the past month or so and gotten some rub and brining recipes from others so I am ready to give it a whirl. I'll start out easy with a butt and ribs and work my way up to chicken, turkeys and finally briskets and fish.

Right now, just saying hello but I am sure to have a bunch of questions once I embark on my new hobby!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Welcome aboard Jim.

Your research will make the transition easy. Grills, propane or charcoal fired are great for quick seared foods but you can't beat a low-n-slow smoker for real barbecue. You bought the best and you'll be thrilled with the results.

Let us know how we may help you, should you have questions or needs.
Jim

Before I purchased my Cookshack Elite, I also did a lot of research. I found independent 3rd parties that rated the Cookshack very highly and often a best product. Price was mentioned but usually in "it's worth it" if you've got the bucks.

The only drawback with the Cookshack is attempting to smoke everything you can think of including items better cooked another way. You know things like pancakes, toast, pasta, flank steak, pies and cakes. Big Grin
quote:
Originally posted by bubbasz1:
Hey Jim,