Skip to main content

Well not yet, but there's gunna be! New 009 & new Moose, how do they mix? Just wandering if anyone has any experience with Moose. New to the forum and CS but not new to the ways of the flame. Too many years babysitting one of my smoke generating marvels has led me to purchase this " lazy mans smoker " and I am enjoying it. This moist type of smoking is new to me and I really would like to avoid some mistakes. If there are any suggestions on what cut, size, times, merinades, etc. I would appreciate it.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Congrats on your new babies to be!

I have no experience cooking moose... but I think a few generalizations are in order: The cookshack will take very good meat and make it great!

Here are my answers to specific questions:

Cut?... any and all
Size?... if it fits
Times?... Whatever it takes
Marinade?...Whatever tastes good

It's that easy!

Read everything you can here on this forum about your new baby and you will be fine. Get a thermometer with a probe and always cook to a predetermined temperature. For those fine cuts that are naturally tender 135 to 145 with the first rare and the second medium rare (in my opinion for venison) Tougher pieces may need higher temps... for example I cook a chunk of neck to 195 to 205 at a temp of about 225 and it comes apart like pulled pork.

No moose around here... Like Boris Badenoff says to Natasha..."you hunt moose, I get squirrel"

Have fun,

Richard
I have to take issue with the "lazy man's" smoker. Instead, I'd call it the busy man's smoker as it lets you have a life beyond the smoker.

Now a lazy man who has nothing better to do than tend a fire for 18 hours, I'd call his pit a lazy man's smoker.

As for the moose, I'm not sure how lean moose meat is. To me, that's the main criterion of whether it will do well in the smoker or not. Good luck!
And I thought nobody cared!