Skip to main content

I am new to electric smokers( AmeriQue ). On the other hand I have 3 years experiance on my propane/water smoker.After many cuts of pork...butts & ribs I have found that I have to foil in order to have a moist/falling off the bone result.I have cooked 3 racks of baby back ribs ( Sams Club ) and foiled them after 2.5 hours on the AmeriQue. They were great ( using Dizzy Pig rubs ). I am afraid to not foil. Past results tell me foil. Brisket......did an 8 pounder...foiled after 6 hours and added beef broth... great. I am just looking for answers...too foil or not too foil. The only meats I have foiled in the past are baby back Ris and pork loin/ picnic/shoulder/butt. I have found that the pork loin( tenderlion ) makes the best pulled BBQ and is easier to deal with as far as bone/fat( a differnt texture of meat ). I have never foiled poultry.

I to have had my AmeriQue shut off while using the probe. I have not contacted Cookshack yet concering the event.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest