Skip to main content

I am not a fan of well done prime rib but there are a couple in my family that won't eat anything but. So the dilemma is how long do I cook the well piece compared to the medium piece so they come out about the same time. I'm new with my 025 and would like to put something on the table for everyone. Also is the prime rib 101 link around. Every one I find leads me to nothing. Like its not available anymore.
Thanks Bubba
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

My solution to the people who like overcooked prime rib is to have a pan of au jus handy. When you put a slice of medium rare in the pan the au jus will suck the red out of it and make it look done so you can at least serve a still moist and juicy slab of meat. And this gives a delicious side benefit - you can serve the leftovers as french dip, the au jus will have a slightly smokey flavor that is delicious.
quote:
Originally posted by Bacchus2b:
I smoked a 16 lb PR to medium rare over Christmas, and for the two people who requested well-done, I seasoned thick slices on both sides with salt and pepper and gave them 2-3 minutes per side of love in a hot skillet. Worked great for leftovers as well!

You can also place lettuce leaves in the pan and heat the slices on the lettuce leaves which will keep searing at a minimum.
quote:
Originally posted by UncleDuke:
My solution to the people who like overcooked prime rib is to have a pan of au jus handy. When you put a slice of medium rare in the pan the au jus will suck the red out of it and make it look done so you can at least serve a still moist and juicy slab of meat. And this gives a delicious side benefit - you can serve the leftovers as french dip, the au jus will have a slightly smokey flavor that is delicious.

I'm with you, UncleDuke. I pretty much follow the same method for converting rare/medium rare. It's quicker, cleaner, and produces much better results than pan searing.