Skip to main content

I Just picked up 30 pounds of pork belly at my local butcher. 2.25/LB. I had them take the Rhine off 25 pounds of it. I cut it up in sections and rubbed it down with High Mountain Buckboard Bacon cure. Sealed it in zip top bags and it'll set in the fridge for a week. I’ll probably smoke it this weekend, or most likely Monday or Tuesday on the FEC 100. I’m a little worried about not getting enough smoke for the bacon. Bacon is one time when I wish I had my Amerecue back!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I am doing my first pork belly now and was going to let it cure for 14 days, do you find that 7 days is enough time?

My pork belly came with the rhine on and I removed it, wasn't sure if I was supposed to or not. Can you tell me why you left it on some of the pork bellies?

I am new to this and trying to learn the best way to do it.

Thanks,
Tim
I Don't care for the rhine either; but, two people at work who wanted bacon, wanted it on, so I left it on that amount. What are you curing with? I've used the Hi Mtn Buckboard bacon cure which is designed to cure boston butt into very lean bacon in 10 days. I use it on pork bellies, just not as long, 6 or 7 days in enough. Two weeks might be overkill, unless you're doing 'only salt' cure. Really good discussion here on bacon http://forum.cookshack.com/eve...1028883/m/7642944896
That is the discussion that helped me give this a try. I am using the cure that tigerfan suggested. He says to go for 2 weeks, but I don't want to wait that long :-). Maybe I will try some of the Hi Mtn Buckboard bacon cure for future attempts as I want do try making the buckboard bacon as well.

Thanks for replying!

Tim