Skip to main content

Hello, I am new to the FEC world. I currently own a Backwoods Competitor and have been kicking the idea around about switching to an FEC-100.

I guess I am looking for pro's/con's of making the switch. I like my Competitor, but also like the idea of not dealing with lump, and the messy water pan.

A little about what I do. I mainly vend events where the majority of what I do is pulled pork. I say 90% of the time I will be smoking pork butts. I will do ribs and brisket from time to time though.

I've just started reading on the FEC info. I read that you get no smoke ring with them. Is that true? If so, why? Not that it matters as long as the flavor is still there.

So thats it, I'd really like to hear your feedback and thoughts, and hope that there are some users on here that have used both cookers.

Thanks again
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Welcome to the CS forum Grux.

I use an FEC100 at my restaurant and while we're not a BBQ joint, I've smoked butts, shoulders, ribs, chickens, briskets, you name it. The simplicity of use is mind boggling simple...load the meat, set time & temp and hit the ON pad.

What you won't get with your Backwoods is a probe/hold feature. I can walk away from butts and/or briskets overnight and return the next morning to perfectly smoked meat resting at 140.

I don't know where you heard about lack of smoke ring...not true. It isn't as pronounced as a stick burner but it's there. Two stage smoking will further increase it. The Cookshack ELECTRIC smokers will not produce a SR.

My advice, pull the trigger. You'll love the FEC.
quote:
Originally posted by MaxQue:
...I don't know where you heard about lack of smoke ring...not true. It isn't as pronounced as a stick burner but it's there.

...The Cookshack ELECTRIC smokers will not produce a SR.