Skip to main content

Let me apologize if I commit any sort of faux pas as this is my first post on your site. Briefly, I want very much to open a BBQ joint (not a restaurant, but joint)! I have zero restaurant experience, and minimal backyard experience in BBQ'ing. Am reasonably sure that I want either an Oyler E or the FEC750-mainly because of the electric back-up unit in the Oyler and the automatic wood feeder on the 750.

Anyone on this forum that has either 1) knowledge of the FEC750 durability or 2) dependability as a commercial smoker? Also, would like to know about the ability of the unit to create the (here in Texas) all-important smoke ring. Thanks in advance for any responses.

Finally, not sure how to "sign" the post.
Last edited {1}
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Probably you will get more help by going down to the Pros only and the FEC forums.

This forum is for small home,traditional electric units.

I've heard the Oyler is a fine unit,for experienced cooks,that intend to commit the time to learn bbq and do the cooking.

First question will probably be," are you going to be the fulltime operator" and pretty much stay with the Oyler all the time"?

Are you going to have another operator,available to work the oyler-when you can't be there.

Do you have support to teach you the techniques with the Oyler?

You might call sales and ask to have fast Eddy contact you.

He developed the FEC,cooks comps,and sets up restaurants with them.

He could answer many of your different questions.
Plapen,

Welcome to the forum.

For an FYI, because your asking about opening a joint, I combined both posts and put them here in the Pros forum. Not only will they give input on the FE, but also opening a joint.

I'm a little worried, when you say you're not experienced in restaurants and minimal backyard experience in BBQing, what do you want to open a restaurant?

When you say joint, what are you thinking?