Skip to main content

Going through the posts here, I've come to the conclusion that, in order to get a good smoke flavor you must smoke at 180 for several hours, then crank the heat up to finish it off.

If that is correct ... then, what about people who don't have the extra time to spend on those longer cooks? I'm thinking of the Catering/Restaurant owners.

Or am I missing something here?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I'm a virtual newbie, but I usually try to have it on smoke for at least an hour and a half to two hours. From then on, it depends on what I'm smoking as to how high a kick up the temp.

Brisket and butts, I try to go low and slow all the way (225), ribs a little higher (250-275). Chicken absords smoke well, so I usually go up to around 350-375 to get it done while keeping the it moist and set the skin.

Once you kick up the temp you'll still pick up some smoke flavor unless your temps are really high. Also, I've heard Smokin say that once the meat temp passes 140, it's generally believed that it will not absorb any more smoke.

By the way, I have two 100s, and they're the smartest bbq/smoking purchase I've ever made. Just wish I could afford the IQ upgrade or one of the big boys.

Maybe someday
DasPit,

I really don't know were your getting the info, but I think you've got it wrong. I had astick burner, and then I got a 500 and then added a 100. And I feel that I have every bit as much smoke flavor as with the stick burner. And I never cook at the temps as low as your talking about 225 or so.

I attended a cooking class this weekend put on by Pellet Envy and Smokin Triggers. And I can say that Rod Gray didn't have any problem turning out some of the best Q in the Country on a 100. If your serious about cooking, you won't go wrong with a FEC100.