Skip to main content

I'd had this happen occasionally before, and after a single reset of the gfci everything was always okay. However, tonight, after the smokette was on for about 3-4 minutes, it tripped the gfci and I was unable to get it back on, this with two pork butts all ready to go.

After looking at it in the dark a bit, I decided that the heating element was just even with the top of the protective metal strap that surrounds it, and might have been just barely contacting the wood box, causing a short. As a short term fix, I shoved a piece of wood under the wood box so that it raised it up just a bit so that the element wouldn't touch it and the gfci is not tripping now.

Has anybody else had this problem?? If so, any recommendations for getting the protective metal strap bent up so that it keeps the element from contacting the wood box.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I'm not an expert, but I have researched this a little. I have a couple items in my trailer that will trip a gfci. One being an electric roaster. The electric elements in our smokers are similar to those, in the roasters and also any electric oven type element. They consist of an electrical resistance wire that actually carries the electrical current, surrounded by ceramic as an insulator, which is then encased in the outer metal jacket that we see get red as it heats. There can be minute cracks in the ceramic insulatiion that can allow very tiny amounts of current leakage from the inner wire to the outer casing. This can be so small that it doesn't affect the operation of the element, nor is it necesarily a safety issue. These miniscule "electrical leaks" will however trip a gfci receptacle. This is what gfci's are designed to do, detect shorts. Only problem is, they can detect some that might not be a problem.
I have had a brand new electric warmer trip a gfci before. Yet it works fine on a normal grounded outlet.