Skip to main content

Hi all,

I've been following this forum for a while now,checking all information I could find on all the pellet grills. starting to know the community a little. I have never used or seen a pellet grill before. But I do know I wanna cook with wood. I've been grilling with a WoodFlame for about 13 years, it works on hardwood only and I love the flavor so much that I wanna be a PelletHead to go low and slow. I'm about to pull the trigger but before I do, I'd like to here what you guy's and gal's have to say about the PG 500 .. the good, the bad and the ugly.
I've noticed that when some ask for pit suggestions, Mak, Memphis and yoder come up more than the PG 500 does.
I love the idea of top down smoking and grilling in the same unit, but is the temperature easy enough to adjust(HHT,LHT)?
Does the pellet controller do what its supposed to do, is it erratic or hard to work with?
Does it perform well or better than other pellet grills?

The PG 500 has a hefty price tag, so I would like to know what I'm getting in too before I get in.

I thank you for all your inputs.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

MeatyBytes,

I don't have a PG500, but do have a PG1000. They share the same controllers and both have the 4 cooking zones. The LHT and HHT settings can be somewhat confusing when reading about their use, but once you get hands on you will really appreciate the flexibility and ease of use. I too come from a wood/charcoal burner past. The flavor profile from a pellet burner will not have the heavy smoke taste, but a subtle smoke that I find to be much better. I researched the Mak, Memphis and Yoder brands prior to purchasing my CS. None of the others had the features that the PG500/1000 could offer IMHO. The Cookshack Fast Eddy grills will allow you to direct grill up to 600* +, smoke low and slow, and all the way down to cold smoking cheese and fish. Also remember, Cookshack has a 30 day no questions asked return option.

BD
MeatyBytes,