Skip to main content

Couple questions for someone who has one of these models. I have never smoked in a electric smoker. What will the difference be that I will like and what will I dislike when comparing these to a wood / charcoal fired smokers? I assume it will be less time consuming. But will I notice a taste difference? Also the models SM009 and the SM025 there is a 161 dollar difference in pricing is the extra $ worth it?
Maybe someone out there has used both electric and charcoal and can convince me that I will love the change to electric.. Appreciate any inputs.. thanks
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I am not an expert. However, I will say this buy the biggest model you can afford. Basically friends and neighbors will want your food. One of my friends co-workers is requesting smoked almonds monthly. I have never been to my friends work. I don’t know the guy who wants the almond. My friends do not know I have an electric smoker. Only if they ask about the process do I tell them how I did it. I have done Almonds, ABTs, butt, brisket, ribs, lamb, chicken, and sausage no complaints. I have only been asked once where is the smoke ring in two years. The guy who asked me about the smoke ring asked me the next month if I would smoke butt and ribs for a fundraiser he was setting up.

According to cookshack.com

SM025
Food Capacity 20 - 25 lbs. total capacity
Electrical 7 amps, 120v Single Phase, 750w heating element
Shelves 2 Nickel-Plated Grills, 14"x18"
Construction All stainless steel
Temperature Range 140 to 300ºF
Warranty 2-Year Limited
Unit Weight 93 lbs shipping weight
Dimensions 20.5”W x19.5” D x31.75” H
Insulation 850ºF Spin-Glas®

SM009
Food Capacity 20 - 25 lbs. total capacity
Electrical 4.2 amps, 120v Single Phase, 500w heating element
Shelves 3 Nickel-Plated Grills, 14"x14"
Construction All stainless steel
Max Temp 250ºF
Warranty 2-Year Limited
Unit Weight 88 lbs shipping weight
Dimensions 16.5" W x 19" D x 24.75" H