Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Okay, first of all, let me say I'm not trying to be overly scientific.

But, I've been smoking for 30+ years, so I like to know my smoker.

Here is a page that shows my first run at mapping. I also tried to figure out an easy way to show the temps. It's not perfect, but you'll be able to figure it out --- I hope Wink

I did the Smoke setting, 275 & 325

Mapping of CS/FE 100

Okay, here are the details, Probably will update the HTML page, but this was a rush job and MAN does it take a lot of time. To do this, took about 3 hours.

Columns, left to right are for Smoke setting, 275 and 325. The numbers are grouped by shelf, from top down to bottom

I placed 5 remote probes on each shelf, so that if you were looking down on the shelf, the probes were Center, Front Left, Front Right, Back left and Back Right.

I based the temps off of the central spot, for example showing a +/- off that temp.

Look at 275

Looking at shelf one, in the center, you see two temps; 310 and 275. The 310, indicates the HIGH temp, as the auger feeds pellets. I watched the smoker and about the time the smoker thermometer hit 275, I watched until a high temp was reached. Here it was 310.

The others temps are +/- for that shelf. The two numbers for each corner indicate the +/- from the high temp and from the 275 temp. One shelf one (top) @ 275 setting, the back right corner got +26 degrees from 310 at it's hotter and a -1 from 275. Confused -- Confused

Again, Top Shelf, 275, shows that the back right ran a little hotter and the others a little low than the central temp

Observations

There are initial observations, I'm sure you can get more from the numbers if you study

• On average the unit does a great job of maintain the selected temp, there will be highs and lows, but the average is fine

• The left side (away from the airflow) tends to run hotter -- on average

• The right side (nearest the airflow) runs below the indicated temp