Skip to main content

First post.

Just bought a SM025 from the Charcoal store. No idea when it'll ship, but I'm psyched! Smiler

Besides reading through the forums, what should I do while I'm waiting for delivery?

I know I need to purchase a thermometer. It looks like the ET-73 is out of stock nearly everywhere -- so I'm picking up this from Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/produ...UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Is there a better one? Will this one work? I want to make sure the thermometer arrives about the same time as the smoker.

Also -- I know the 025 comes with 5lbs of wood. I don't have a wood source at the moment, but do most folks get chunks locally? Is it worth buying from CS direct? (No experience with smoking, so I'm looking to figure this out as I go along.)

I know I'll find the answer in the forums, but once I season the 025 -- what's a good first meat to smoke? I have no experience other than grilling on an old weber -- so I'm looking for something relatively straightforward that won't frustrate me (too much) the first time out.

Thanks,
Bobbytuck
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Congratulations on your purchase. You are in for a good time learning to smoke. Just read in the forum as much as you can about new owner's. Read all of their miss-haps and mistakes! Then you will be better prepared when you make the same mistakes you have just read about! Believe me I know because of my beginning experiences.
There is plenty of wood to get you going when your unit comes in. Yes, I do think it is worthwhile to get wood from Cookshack. It is cut to their specs and very uniform in size. You can use other chunks,but I still like the cookshack wood best.
As some else on this forum has said, "Don't over think it" just relax and have fun.