Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Tom
i have been smoking as a hobby for about 20 yrs. ribs, brisket, turkey, chicken and pork loins are my favorites. i have been told i should compete but i own a business that takes up too much of my time. i make my own BBQ sauce that i have been told should be bottled and sold as well but likewise time is an issue. plus its a hobby (a hobby that is out of control)not a business and i prefer to keep it that way.

ken
I have both and cook all kinds of product on both.

We compete on FEC s,due to rules.

The 150/160 will peak about 300*-315*,which is pretty much what you want a smoker to do.

I can effectively add more smoke,if I wish, on the 150 series.

If I did much cold smoking,fish,cheese,sausage,etc,I would, personally, probably do it on the 150.

I can teach a novice to use the 150 ,more easily/quicker than the FEC,but the FEC is no problem.

I can pick wood up off the ground for the 150,or buy a year's worth for $15 from the box stores

You will be ordering/storing pellets for the FEC,as on the Traegar.

It probably runs us less than $0.75/hr to run an FEC on pellets,maybe $0.25 for overnight on the 150.

They both are well insulated and very effecient.

Impervious to wind,rain,cold.

The FEC will recover temp more quickly,if you have a need to open the door a bunch.

Cooking chicken wing flats,shellfish,etc it would recover,if you kept opening the door to look.

The FEC can hold temp within 2*-4*,and cook comfortably at 350*-which means you are no longer smoking.

My 150 was built in the 90's and never had a problem.

I see them heavily used,20 yrs old and no problems.

I have an older preramp FEC,and a new IQ4 FEC at home and never had a problem.

We have never had a problem with our comp units,either.

I set all to run all night and then drop to hold temps,and never look at them.

I go back to the motel. Big Grin