Skip to main content

I was "nominated" to cook the briskets for the church's fourth of July BBQ. I will be using two smokettes to do it. I have to cook 12 untrimmed flats (6-7 lbs. each). I think I can do it by cooking three at a time the day before the BBQ for about six hours each. Any advice especially since I am still a novice. The intent is to slice them and serve them on sandwiches. I figure to cook them and then wrap them whole and then reheat and slice on the fourth.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Dave, I think you are on the right track. I have done exactly that, only a time or two though. I would suggest going to 185-190* on the finished temp. IF you are going to slice. I do remove the fat cap when they come out of the CS.while it is hot, THEN foil. I wish I had a commercial slicer....make REAL thin and pile it high. IF you have a good BBQ cookbook, make a fun sauce to serve on the side. I have found people like something new and NOT store bought. Good luck!!!!
David A
1. Have you ever cooked a flat? If not, practice one for flavor and finishing temp. Do you have a rub & sauce in mind?

2. Do all but 2 or 3 of them ahead. Like David said, you can take the fat off. Me, I'd leave it on and foil if I'm going to reheat them cold. If I'm going to slice them cold, go ahead and take the cap off. Then chill and store in the fridge.

3. The day of the event, I'd slice everything ahead of time (could even do early, but it will dry out if you don't seal it well), add some beef stock and put it in the oven to warm. Cutting 12 briskets is a LOT of work and a slicer on cold brisket will save time.

The remaining 2 or 3 can be cooked that day.