Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Mornin',

Good to hear from you,Jim.

Like Jim says,those better be loinbacks off a 700 lb. sausage sow.

Depending on your weight,you may find that two hrs. out,one hour in foil with a little apple juice and brown sugar,and 30-45 mins. out with a little glaze.

Your Smokette will usually take about 25 mins. to recover to 225�,each time you let the door stand open.

You can always cook a little longer out of the foil,if need be.

Hope this helps a little.
Big Grin
Hi Grumps,

I gotta admit, I'm no expert at this here somkin' stuff but I do give it a good ol' whirl every now and again. Now, Tom and Jim, they been Q'in for a long time and they've forgot more about it than I'll ever know. That said though, I'm gonna have to disagree just a tad bit.

Up Indiana way there's this ol' boy named Stogie who uses the 3-2-1 system all the time and he wins contests with it too. I had the distinct privilge of bein' with him when he took a prize for ribs at the KCBS cookoff in Cairo, IL last summer. He also won two contests out in his neck of the woods this summer. Several years back he taught me his system and it's served me right smart well ever since. Now, neither one of us is cookin' on a CS. He's usin' a WSM and I'm with this big ol' ugly offset. That might make a diff, but bottom line, it's a six hour cook at 225 degrees F and the ribs aren't mushy.

Now, I've been followin' this here forum almost from day one and from the gazillions of posts I've read the CS can make tender, juicy ribs with no extry help. If I owned one of those puppies you better bet I'd give it try without foiling first. Foiling each individual slab is a big pain in the donkey if you get my drift.

Just my $.02 worth.
Yes, I get your drift EZ and thank you for you help, and thank you to Tom and Jim as well. I think you are right EZ in that the CS does produce enough moisture so it isn't necesary to foil, unlike some other smokers, I guess.