Something does not seem right with this. The Open contest is running yesterday and today with awards later this afternoon. Not sure what you saw because Eddy did not compete in the Invitational contest which had their awards yesterday.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .