Skip to main content

OK, I'm new to the FEC 100 and have been having some difficulty. It has the ramp and treiger controller.
I've tried three seperate cooks on it now. The first time and last time I've had fire control issues. This last time I set it to 180. It fired up fine, but went back out to check the temp and it was at 315. I opened the pit only to find that fire had worked its way back up the ramp and the pellets were falling down already on fire. This is the same thing that happened on my first cook (it was very windy), so I went and bought a peice of 5inch 90 degree pipe to control wind coming back in the unit.
Can anyone tell me why I'm having temp issues? Any information would be greatly appreciated. I have a catering event coming up and really don't want to have to fire up my old wood pit for it.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Let us know what they say. I moved the post to the FE forum (we have different owner forums for the Electrics and the FE because they're totally different)

There are obviously several questions, and the Customer Service folks can walk you through it.

Come back with your info and it might help someone else in the future.

Russ
I don't know if this will help but it was a learning experience for me this week. After I had a grease fire that I still don't understand, I cleaned and scrapped everything in the cooking chamber. I vacuumed the fire box making sure there was no ash left. When I started the cooker I didn't put any pellets in the fire pot knowing the auger was primed and I could hear them dropping. I came out 15 minutes later to find a cold cooker, a full load of pellets in the pot and smoke pouring out. I guess the glow rod timed out before it had enough pellets to cause a fire. As soon as I opened the door a small flame started so I just shut off the switch and closed the door thinking I would let it cool.