Skip to main content

Newbie here - Well, the new FEC100 arrived today. Needless to say I'm totally stoked (along with thih cooker). My question is: how long willl 20lbs. of pellets last? I'm thinking of doing 2 butts and some ribs for a test/new years football party. Maybe some ABT's first then the meat after. Is it enough? I'm using the Hickory pellets that came with the smoker. All help will be greatly appreciated. Big Grin

Jim - Yeah Baby BBQ !!!
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Congradulations on your new cooker! I'm a newbie myself (Fe100 is 3 wks old) so some of the long time owners will probably have more detailed information but mine seems to use a little less than one pound of pellets per hour on the 250* and lower settings. This is just an estimate and higher temps will use more pellets. The brand might make a difference as well. So you should be in good shape for your New Years cook, but you"ll want to order a good supply soon! Let us know how the butts and ribs turn out! Happy New Year!

Catfish
Congratulations. Depending on who's pellets you are using, you should get a minimum of a pound per hour. I use Eddys hickory pellets, and swear they never burn down. I can load the hopper, put in a couple whole briskets and cook all night. I get up in the morning and after the briskets are done, and I still have the hopper 2/3 to 3/4 full. The unit is amazing. I was talking to Eddy the other night and told him I sampled some tri tip cooked on a Tucker. I said I haven't tasted creosote in my meat since getting my FEC two years ago.
Happy New Year!!

Happy New Year
Oh yeah, the thermal shut off. I remember hearing it is better to be a bit cooler than have it kick off.

Currently it's 31F and calm winds, and it's running 90F on smoke with Eddy's pecan pellets. I'm smoking another batch of sharp cheddar to replace the batch thats going to tonights party.

I was wondering how low yours runs on smoke, and how high it goes when set high.